LaunchPoint News

LaunchPoint Partners with Walker Racing

Posted on Wed, Apr 7, 2004

Walker Racing is pleased to announce the signing of Champ Car driver Mario Haberfeld to piloting the #5 Ford-Cosworth/Reynard/Bridgestone entry in the 2004 Bridgestone Presents the Champ Car World Series Powered by Ford. The 2004 season will also mark the return of Cummins Engine as the sponsor, a long-time partner of Walker Racing. The team will be competing at the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on April 18.

“We are looking forward to competing in the Champ Car World Series in 2004. It has been a long winter, now its time to go racing” said team owner, Derrick Walker.

Mario Haberfeld will be competing in his second season of Champ Car competition, scoring three top-five finishes and 11 top-10 finishes in 2003. “I’m very happy to be back in Champ Car for my second year. This season will allow me to build upon the experience gained with both the cars and the circuits from last year” said Haberfeld.

2004 will also mark the return of Cummins Engine, Holset Turbochargers, Fleetguard and Onan, with Walker Racing in a partnership role that saw them adorned on the Walker Racing cars of Robby Gordon and Gil de Ferran from 1994 through 1999. Cummins is a world-class diesel manufacturer headquartered in Columbus, Indiana. “Teaming up with Walker Racing has been beneficial in the past, and we look forward to continuing our successful partnership” said Cummins CEO Tim Solso.

California-based LaunchPoint Technologies will also be making their debut as a partner with Walker Racing and Cummins for the 2004 season. LaunchPoint Technologies is a Venture Engineering firm that develops new technologies, incubates startups, and provides sophisticated engineering services. Team owner Derrick Walker says “we appreciate the decision of LaunchPoint Technologies to join Walker Racing for 2004, and we look forward to a long and successful relationship”.

Walker Racing will enter its 14th season of Champ Car competition this year, maintaining a position as one of the longest running teams in the series. The team has four Champ Car victories and 10 poles to its credit, and finished the series runner-up in 1997 with Gil de Ferran behind the wheel.

Files: HaberfeldRelease.pdf

Links: Walker Racing

<- Back to: News